General/Misc · Sewing

Let’s start a Riot (Skirt) and Rave (Shirt)!

So I mustache you a question, have you ever found a pattern that was so you, it was like the designer had you in mind when drafting it?

I’m sure that is not exactly how things went over at George and Ginger when Kristi designed the Riot Skirt and Rave Shirt but it may as well have! This is, by far, my favorite outfit I’ve ever made. It fits like perfection. It makes me feel sexy and sassy and yet very vintage classy. My wardrobe would be full of these if I wasn’t chasing a toddler around life 75% of the time.

And there are OPTIONS. SO many options. Give the girl options because girls LOVE OPTIONS!

Riot Skirt

  • Basic Waistband
  • Curved Waistband
  • Striped Waistband
  • Fitted Skirt
  • Fitted with Flounce
  • Pleated Skirt
  • Circle Skirt
  • Mini Circle Skirt

Rave Shirt

  • Scoop Neck
  • Square Neck
  • Angled Neck
  • Short Sleeve
  • Long Sleeve
  • 3/4 Sleeve
  • Tee Length
  • Cropped Length

So I’m definitely not a mathematician but that is like 759,375 combination possibilities (or something, because… math). Talk about getting the bang for your buck!

I made the fitted with flounce, basic waistband skirt and the square neck, short sleeve, tee shirt. I love that this is a look that can be made (and purchased) individually so I can wear these super cute shirts whenever I want.

At first I was a little intimidated about the suspenders, but Kristi made their construction SO easy and everything is marked for you to line it up perfectly. If you are under the 5’6″ standard height, or have a shorter torso; I would check the length before attaching your suspenders to make sure they don’t need adjusting.

I am currently working on my version of a hack so the suspenders can be removable and you can wear the skirt with or without them! You can make the skirt without suspenders if you would like (there I go, upping that combination count).

Point of this is: you need this. You need this SO bad. It covers so many of your outfit needs and today is the last day to get it on sale for 25% off from George and Ginger Pattern Co, no code necessary.

Leave a comment